Competition Results 2012-2013



PROGRAMME 2012 -2013

Creative Writing Competition

1st Place - Susan Ryan, Clane Guild, Co. Kildare

2nd Place - Angela Moore, Killererin Guild, Co. Galway

3rd Place - Margaret Sides, Coolamber Guild, Co. Longford

Highly Commended

Rose Connolly, Drombanna Guild, Co. Limerick


Inter Federation Cup for Crafts

1st Place - Betty Denning, Cavan Federation

2nd Place - Pauline O’Dwyer, Dublin Federation

3rd Place - Eily Kennedy, Kerry Federation


1st Place - Olive Park, Donegal Federation


1st Place - Chris Cleary, Waterford Federation

2nd Place - Mary M. Spillane, Kerry Federation

Highly Commended

Maria Hibberd, Limerick Federation

OVERALL WINNER – Betty Denning, Cavan Federation


Inter Federation Cup for Art – Photography

Colour Photography

1st Place – Josephine Keane, Wexford Federation

2nd Place – Mary Ryan, Waterford Federation

3rd Place – Phyllis Hamilton, Blessington Guild, Co. Wicklow

Highly Commended

Marie Hayes, Cappamore Guild, Co. Limerick

Kathleen Cawley, Castlebar Guild, Co. Mayo

Margaret Nolan

Margaret McDonald, Kinnegad Guild, Co. Meath

Mary Sweeney, Moycullen Guild, Co. Galway

Frances Carroll, Castletown Guild, Co. Laois

Frances Carroll, Castletown Guild, Co. Laois

Leona Hutchinson, Moville Guild, Co. Donegal

Janet Edgely, Tallaght Guild, Co. Dublin

Black and White Photography

1st Place – Ena Howell, Grenagh Guild, Co. Cork

2nd Place – Marie Hayes, Cappamore Guild, Co. Limerick

2nd Place – Jenny Jones, Ashford Guild, Co. Wicklow

Highly Commended

Mary Gibbons

Molly Sweeney

Teresa Duffy

Peggy Ryan

Janet Edgely, Tallaght Guild, Co. Dublin

Ena Howell, Grenagh Guild, Co. Cork

OVERALL WINNER – Josephine Keane, Wexford Federation


Baumann Cup for Art

1st Place – Fionnuala M. O’Donoghue, Leitrim Federation

2nd Place – Maureen Meehan, Roscommon Federation


National Table Quiz Final

1st Place - Clare Federation - (Pat Corry, Pauline Hickey, Mary Neylon)

2nd Place - Waterford Federation - (Maria Ui Ógartaigh, Christine Heggs, Mary O'Griofa)

3rd Place - Kildare Federation - (Eileen Bateson, Mary Carton, Nancy Mearus)


ICA Trophy for Reporting

Ms Barbara McGranaghan - Kilmore Quay, County Wexford


Eleanora Gibbon Cup for Drama

1st Place - Maynooth Guild, County Kildare

2nd Place - Clooney Quinn Guild, County Clare

3rd Place - Ardcath Guild, County Meath


Baumann Shield for Music

1st Place - Kiltale Guild, Meath Federation

2nd Place - Lusk Guild, Dublin Federation


Eleanora Gibbon Shield for Music

Ballybrack Guild, Dublin Federation


Patsy Lawlor Cup for Set Dancing - Full Set

1st Place - Dunderry Guild, Meath Federation

2nd Place - Killanure Guild, Laois Federation


Patsy Lawlor Shield for Set Dancing - Half Set

1st Place - Ardcath Guild, County Meath

2nd Place - Brotenstown/Ballinea, County Westmeath


Guild Year Book for the Betty Manning Trophy

1st Place - Two Mile House Guild, Kildare Federation

2nd Place - Delgany Guild, Wicklow Federation

3rd Place - Derryquay Guild, Kerry Federation

Highly Commended

Clones Guild, Monaghan Federation

Cappamore Guild, Limerick Federation


Gempack Baking Competition

1st Place - Mella Winters, Wexford Federation

2nd Place - Kay Roche, Kilkenny Federation

3rd Place - Mary Gallagher, Mayo Federation


Gempack Recipe Competition

1st Place - Caroline Power, Meath Federation

2nd Place - Maria Cronin, Wicklow Federation

3rd Place - Joan Meaney, Limerick Federation


Hickey’s Make and Model

1st Place – Josephine Kenny, Leitrim Federation

2nd Place – Kay Kearney, Cork Federation

3rd Place – Breda McDonald, Kilkenny Federation

Become a Member

Irish Countrywomen's Association, 58 Merrion Road, Dublin 4,Tel: 01 668 0002 Fax: 01 660 9423 Email:
Designed by Language and Fusio